Treatment of the Week: an Organic Seaweed Bath

Voya Seaweed Bath

Seaweed baths are a big tradition in Ireland which I meant to try for a while. So when I had a particularly bad week the other week, I decided that it was time to do just that: take 30 minutes out for myself and indulge in a deeply relaxing and detoxifying bath treatment.

I decided to try Voya, a company based on the wild Atlantic coast of Strandhill, Sligo in Ireland known to produce the finest organic seaweed (which they still harvest by hand using the old traditional methods). Seaweed is said to naturally cleanse and purify, moisturise and improve the elasticity of the skin. Voya’s seaweed bath treatments are famous and thousands of people come every year to try them. If you can not make the trip to Ireland, you can order one of their “Lazy Days” boxes, which contains a bundle of dry netted seaweed and dead sea salt, for you to try at home.

So.. how was my seaweed bath experience? Well I really loved it! When I took out the bundle of seaweed out of the box, I was at first surprised by the strong smell of seaweed. But the smell is not actually unpleasant and it is exactly the smell you would get if you were on a beach close to a wild ocean, so it is sort of nice to re-create this sensation in your own bathroom. As per the instructions, I soaked the bundle of dry seaweed in hot water squeezing it every now and then to help the seaweed releases its nutritious and moisturising gel (the texture reminded me of aloe vera). This does take a little while, so do not rush it and give it time. Once ready, I added the dead sea salt and some colder water and jumped into the bath.

I kept the seaweed in its net for a while and gave my body a good scrub. I then released it from its net and a crazy mass of seaweed took over the whole bath tub. Again, it does feel a bit strange at first but is actually very nice to touch. I just laid there, under a heavy blanket of seaweed for the rest of the bath, slowly relaxing into it, breathing in the aroma and rubbing the seaweed over my face, body and even hair from time to time to properly feel the seaweed’s warmth and soothing effect.

A few hours after my bath treatment I was feeling incredibly relaxed and my skin felt well cleansed and smooth. I also felt very thirsty because of the strong detoxifying effect of the seaweed, so drunk a lot of of water and herbal tea for the rest of the evening. Exactly what I needed to recharge my batteries this week!

www.voya.ie

Voya Seaweed Bath

Voya Seaweed Bath

Voya Seaweed Bath

Voya Seaweed Bath

Dry (above) and Soaked (below)

Voya Seaweed Bath

voga seaweed bath

voga seaweed bath

One thought on “Treatment of the Week: an Organic Seaweed Bath

Leave a comment!

