The Affordable Art Fair – Milan 2012 Edition

Ladies, I am actually off to London this weekend to celebrate my birthday with a proper party (we decided this year to have a “Roller Disco” (yes = dancing with rollers on your feet!) – andok, I do promise to put some pics online next week if I am not too ashame..) but before going, I had to go visit the new 2012 edition of the Affordable Art Fair, which will take place here in Milan from 2 till 5 February. This fair is called the “Affordable” Art Fair because it features pieces of contemporary art which are maximum EUR 5,000 (but dont worry, it is usually much less). The idea is to show you don’t need to be an art expert or a millionaire to enjoy and buy art and this fair has become so popular that it is now taking place in 15 different cities across the world (LA, London, NY, etc). Wanna look of the 2012 Milan Edition looked like? Follow me! 

The Affordable Art Fair, Milan 2012 Edition

The Affordable Art Fair, Milan 2012 Edition

The Affordable Art Fair, Milan 2012 Edition

The Affordable Art Fair, Milan 2012 Edition

The fair was full of cameras and journalists.. I tried to put myself behind a few scenes but they did not seem to have noticed me ;(

The Affordable Art Fair, Milan 2012 Edition

The Affordable Art Fair, Milan 2012 Edition

Cool journalists and artists taking a break at the Art Map Tv corner..

The Affordable Art Fair, Milan 2012 Edition - Workshop Corner

The Affordable Art Fair, Milan 2012 Edition - Workshop Corner

You had also workshops where artists were giving you lesson.. I wish I had had more time to try one!

Burqa, imaginary cover from Flavio Lucchini

Burqa, imaginary cover from Flavio Lucchini

I actually want to do another post to feature a bit more deeply a few artists who really inspired me (even if, I have to mention to be accurate that no, everything there was not – to my taste at least – good!) but here are already a few.. I picked up those ones because their art was fashion-related.. which I thought, might interest fashionistas like you!! So, here above, is an imaginary Vogue cover from Flavio Lucchini..

Ezio Minetti

Ezio Minetti

This other artist, Ezio Minetti, really made me laugh just exhibiting pairs of shoes and accessories this way.. Gave me some ideas for my own house (exhibiting my favourite Chanel ballerinas in a plexi-glass on the coffee table??), I am just not sure my boyfriend would agree.. but who knows.. maybe he has a much “deeper” art sense than I suspect ;)

Ezio Minetti

Ezio Minetti

Lastly, for today (again, will feature other artists tomorrow hopefully), I also liked the “robes geographiques” of Elisabeth Lecourt.

Elisabeth Lecourt

Elisabeth Lecourt

Happy weekend everyone!

10 thoughts on “The Affordable Art Fair – Milan 2012 Edition

  1. Pingback: At the Affordable Art Fair! | Absolutely Faaabulous...

  2. Pingback: Salone del Mobile: The EDIT exhibition, by DesignJunction! | Absolutely Faaabulous...

  3. Pingback: Salone del Mobile: Designers Looks! | Absolutely Faaabulous...

Leave a comment!

