The Market of the Place des Lices.. or what to Bring Back from Saint Tropez

Every Tuesday and Saturday, the Place des Lices, the very famous little square in the heart of St.-Tropez where locals normally come to play petanque (‘boules games’) under 100 years old Plane trees, transforms itself into a big market with dozens of stalls selling everything from lavender to cashmere. For me it is the perfect place where to buy ‘local’ accessories to finalise my beach/holidays look and to buy a few souvenirs for friends or to bring back to decorate my home.. and prolong the holidays feeling as much as possible! Here is a selection of my favorite products.

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

To start with, I always take a few soaps, which if you find the good ones, are all hand-made, using only natural, pure vegetable oils and authentic Provencal fragrances. My favourites? “Pastis” (named after the famous local drink, Pastis, based of Anis) and “Green Tomato“. I use them instead of a shower gel in the summer.. so refreshing!

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Since we are in Provence, I also usually take a few lavender bags to perfume my wardobe back home of the delicious Provence lavender. Once they lost a bit their fragrance, I just add a few drops of extract of essential oil of lavender (cheaper than pure essential oil and for this use, this is enough) to refresh them! Re the look of these little bags, you can choose between the traditional ones…or ones that are a bit more funky.

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

I also like to take a few shells to place here and there in my home the time of the summer (the big pearly ones are perfect as soap holders) or on my tablecloth for summer table decoration.

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

On the look side, I like to take at least one bright little bracelet to wear on the beach.. one with shells if possible.

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

There are also plenty of nice – and cheap – white cotton dresses and shirts.

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

They even sell flowers crowns.. which I found was a really cute accessory to take original summer portraits of your little nieces/daughters/children.

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Otherwise, there have a great selection of cheap hammam towels for the beach (or your bathroom back home).

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Foodwise, I can not resist but to take a pot of honey for my summer breakfasts and to sweeten my tea. They are infused with lavender, thyme.. so delicious!

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

I also take a pot of “Anchoiades“, a Provençal puree of anchovies, garlic and olive oil, which you put on grilled bread or serve as a dip for starter, and a pot of “Aioli“, a traditional garlic flavoured mayonnaise which I use with fishes and roasted chicken to prolong the flavours of the holidays when I am back…

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Market of the Place des Lices, Saint-Tropez, France

Thats it for today. Tomorrow, I’ll (try to) take you out clubbing with me!

Leave a comment!

