A brand new Nephew.. and a couple of Original Gift Ideas for Newborns!

You must have noticed that I have not been posting as frequently as usual these days… but I must confess you something: I just had a new nephew! Yes, my sister gave birth to a beautiful baby boy and I had of course to rush back home, in France, to celebrate and play with the brand new member of the family.. which left me a bit short of time for my blog. His name is Gaspard, he is a very healthy and cute baby… He is not even 2 weeks old but, as you can see, he already has quite a little hairstyle! Depending on the days, we can brush his hair in either the Clark Gable or Elvis way.. Ladies, I am telling you: watch out your daughters/sisters/nieces, one more heartbreaker on earth!

Anyway, this made me think that I am usually short of ideas for baby showers as I am not a mother yet myself so never really know what to buy. With this in mind, I inspected my little nephews’ rooms and interrogated my sister to find a couple of original gift ideas for newborns.

First of all, I found these really cute drawer liners. I do not know if you are familiar with drawer liners but basically they are sheets of scented paper (which are also beautifully decorated) that you put in your drawers or wardrobes to delicately perfume your clothing and linens (and at the same time add a touch of elegance to your wardrobe). And the really cute toy print on this one will for sure add a touch of elegance in any nursery/child room! If you are jealous, you can find some for adults at Crabtree & Evelyn.

I also very much liked is this big, family size beach towel: perfect for the little family.. or lovers! This one was found at Other Criteria, a shop in London that works directly with Damien Hirst and a number of other artists (Jeff Koons, etc) to make limited editions t-shirts, photographs, books and a few objects of the artists. One cheap and chic way to afford a ‘real’ Jeff Koons or Damien Hirst, no;)

Another idea is a book of songs and lullabies from all over the world. It contains both a CD, to play when the baby goes to sleep, and a book, so you can read and show the illustrations of the stories of the songs/lullabies to your baby when he grows up a bit. Perfect for futur little globe-trotters who will need to familiarise themselves fast with different languages/sonorities!

You can also personalise a little blanket by putting the name of the baby on it. Tartine and Chocolat does it in France but you can interpret it and do it your own way too of course!

Lastly, I could not resist but to show you the stamps that my sister and her partner prepared for the birth cards announcement: you can indeed personalise your stamps (at least in France) by asking the post office to prepare stamps with the picture you want.. hum.. this gives me a few ideas for my new year/xmas cards too!

Happy end of the week everyone!

8 thoughts on “A brand new Nephew.. and a couple of Original Gift Ideas for Newborns!

  1. Style Dilettante

    Congratulations Miss J! Is this the first time you are an Auntie? I really enjoy my nieces … so much so I spent five hours baking a striped birthday cake for Talia who turned 2 yesterday. She and Gaspard would make a beautiful couple in sixteen years or so! Does he like blondes? He is GORGEOUS!!! I love your gift ideas too! The drawer liners would be an even better gift if they came with installation! Not many mothers with a newborn would have time to line drawers….!!

    http://www.inherentstylela.com/

    Reply
  2. Change

    I am usually to blogs and i genuinely appreciate your articles. The article has really peaks my interest. I will bookmark your web site and retain checking choosing information.

    Reply
  3. Celine

    Toutes mes félicitations Tatie ;-)
    Ton neveu est vraiment adorable, tu féliciteras les parents!
    alors, j’ai trois nièces à lui proposer, bon l’ainée est un peu trop grande mais la dernière, Louise, a 13 mois….
    Bises

    Reply

Leave a comment!

