Diving with Christ in San Fruttuoso!

San Fruttuoso is a tiny little beach close to Portofino (accessible only by boat or by foot) with two spectacular attractions: an ancient abbey and the “Christ of the Abyss“.

The abbey dates back from the 13th century but now straddles the beach as people started to invade the place since the abbey is not in use anymore.

San Fruttuoso, Portofino, Italy

San Fruttuoso, Portofino, Italy

San Fruttuoso, Portofino, Italy

San Fruttuoso, Portofino, Italy

San Fruttuoso, Portofino, Italy

The Christ of the Abyss is an life-size bronze statue which sits 16m under the sea. Far down in the waters, the face and arms of Christ are raised towards the source of light.. emotion guaranteed! It is possible to see it either with a glass-bottomed boat or directly by scuba diving there. A “must do” if you are ever in the area!

19 thoughts on “Diving with Christ in San Fruttuoso!

  1. Style Dilettante

    Oh my gosh! Really? A statue under the sea? How dramatic and haunting… Did you see it? The color of the sea is just incredible. I tried to look for topless sun worshipers but didn’t see any – are they still going topless in Italy? I remember being mortified at 17 when my aunts and cousins took their tops off in front of me on the beach in Jesolo!
    (I’m neither a prude n’or a perv, just curious)

    http://inherentstylela.blogspot.com/

    Reply
    1. absolutelyfaaabulous Post author

      Nope: so far (and I have been to quite a few Italian beaches), I did not see anyone topless in Italy! But yeah, I am wondering where these ladies are? Any Italian girl out there to help us?

      Reply
  2. Fashionthroughtravel

    Great post! San Fruttuoso seems amazing! I’m really intrigued how it would feel like to sit on the beach and be right near a centuries-old monastery!

    I’m so glad you found me via another blog :)
    I’ve skimmed through your blog a bit and it’s really inspiring. It’s really funny when you find people talking about the same mix of fashion and travel as yourself. I’m definitely following, sister haha!

    xx

    http://fashionthroughtravel.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  3. Julia

    First of all I would like to thank you for taking and sharing all these beyond gorgeous photos! Also, I have a question for you, it seems like you’ve been around french and italian mediterranean coast a lot. How much does it cost to stay at some simple, nothing fancy hotel/motel there? What about food? I would love to go the only thing is that I really have to plan the budget because tickets alone from Canada would cost a fortune :)
    Again thank you so much for your wonderful and inspiring blog ;)

    Reply
    1. absolutelyfaaabulous Post author

      Hi Julia! Thanks for your questions.. I like questions! I usually tend to succeed to find 2 star hotels for about 80eur per night (for a double room) but it really depends where about exactly you want to stay in the French/Italian riviera.. cause it is obviously huge and there are many places, some more fancy/expensive than others. For Portofino for ex, I booked a bit at the last moment and could not find anything cheaper than 120eur. But that included an amazing breakfast (with Prosecco.. so chich in the morning!), wifi and parking and is so far the max I ever spent. So depending on where you go, how early in advance you book, I would say between 80 and 110eur for a double room per night. My trick is to go directly on the tourist office site of the city where you want to go, and usually they have a list of hotels. Go from the bottom (1 star, 2, motels or whatever you want) and start either phoning them up or emailing them to enquire re availabilities and prices. I find this much better than using booking sites cause booking websites 1) only have a selection of hotels available in this city/area, do not list all of them, 2) the cheap ones they work with are usually quickly fully booked as they are referenced on these well know sites and 3) you are hence usually left with only the quite expensive or far away ones. So, I mean, feel free to check lastminute.com, booking,com, etc.. but if you dont find anything there, pls try my technique. Re food, plan a minimum of 20eur per diner per pers (without alcool). Can be more.. but in the day as well, you can also just take a sandwich or something cheap. Hope this helps and to see you down there soon ;)

      Reply
  4. Pingback: The masserias of Puglia! «

  5. Pingback: Happy Days.. «

  6. Pingback: Fairytale Wedding in a French Castle! | Absolutely Faaabulous...

  7. Pingback: Truffle hunting in Piedmont! | Absolutely Faaabulous...

  8. Pingback: The New David! | Absolutely Faaabulous...

  9. Pingback: The Hotel of Justin Timberlake’s Wedding! | Absolutely Faaabulous...

  10. Pingback: Going Places. Vegas. | Absolutely Faaabulous...

  11. Pingback: Biennale di Venezia: The Human Distiller! | Absolutely Faaabulous...

Leave a comment!

