Istanbul’s Grand Bazaar

Hi everyone,

So I arrived on Monday in Istanbul and so far it is really cool. This is for ex the view on the Bosphorus that I have when I wake up in the morning..

Bosphorus, Istanbul, Turkey

Bosphorus, Istanbul, Turkey

And after, this is the ‘seabus‘ we use with my friend to commute..

SeaBus, Istanbul, Turkey

SeaBus, Istanbul, Turkey

Ok.. and where could I possibly spend my first … and ok I confess most of my second day too?? To the Grand Bazaar of course (and hammam.. more on this very soon)! Not (only) because I am shopaholic but (also) because my boyfriend is going to come join us as from tomorrow.. so I guess that from then on the trip will have to be a bit more ‘cultural‘…

So the Grand Bazaar… Istanbul is full of bazaars but the Grand Bazaar.. is the one. The biggest one. Founded in 1461, it is like an enormous and spectacular labyrinth of 60 streets and 3,600 shops.. The atmosphere is truly unique. I put below a few pics which hopefully will help you get a feeling of it.

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

Grand Bazaar, Istanbul, Turkey

** My favorite shops at the Grand Bazaar:

Tradition, the best carpet shop of the bazaar, which you can totally trust for sending out carpets internationally

Kurkculer Sk. Rubiye Han No 11-12, 34440 Kapalicarsi, Istanbul

Tel: +90 212 520 79 07   –   Email: tradition@superonline.com

&

Dervis, the shop with the cutest and best quality bathroom accessories (and if you don’t trust my tastes.. Diane Von Furstenberg visited his shop when I was there!!)

Keseciler Cad. No 33-35, Kapalicarst, Istanbul

Tel: +90 212 514 45 25    –   Email: info@dervis.com  or http://www.dervis.com

3 thoughts on “Istanbul’s Grand Bazaar

Leave a comment!

